Villa Curiano is located in the small hamlet of Curiano, on the Ancient Roman road via Cassia, between Monteroni D’Arbia and the picturesque medieval Buonconvento. The origin of Curiano goes back to medieval times. The first documents quoting the hamlet are indeed from 1079.
In the following centuries, the hamlet of Curiano evolved into an important “Ruolo di Posta”, or staging post, on the via Francigena, the ancient road and route of pilgrimage running from England to Rome. A document dating from 1209 mentions the restoration of a well on Curiano hill. Further documents cite a “Spedale”, a hospital or resting place, located there since the middle XIV century, when the land was given to a Dominican monastic community from Siena, who grew fields and vines. The “Spedale” of Curiano was an important post and refuge that welcomed pilgrims and religious people of all origins and all people in need who were passing by on the via Francigena during their journey between Rome and France.
Around 1650, the land was sold by the Domenican friars, with the stipulation that the “Spedale” be kept running welcoming all pilgrims and people in need. During the following centuries, the property changed owners. Finally, in 1954, Villa Curiano was bought by the Masetti family and is now owned by a descendant of the latter, the Marchesa Isabella Gaetani di Canossa.
Today, the Curiano estate extends over 400 hectares in the Tuscan hills south of Siena, and is active in the organic farming system.